by John Reed· Last Updated: Sep 26, 2026
Includes
Pros
Cons
Includes
Pros
Cons
These two courses do different jobs, so let's be clear about that up front.
Hurst Review teaches you nursing content. Its whole identity is the core content lecture series, taught by nurse instructors, with a printed workbook, and you can take it live in a classroom. NCLEX Bootcamp does not teach content that way at all. It assumes you learned it in school and drills you on exam-realistic questions, then explains every one of them.
We rate NCLEX Bootcamp as the best all-around NCLEX prep course for most students in 2026, and it wins this matchup too. But "most students" is doing real work in that sentence. If you finished nursing school feeling like the content never stuck, Bootcamp is the wrong tool and Hurst is the right one.
We verified both companies' pricing and packages on their own sites on September 26, 2026.
| NCLEX Bootcamp | Hurst Review | |
|---|---|---|
| Entry price (verified Sept 2026) | $59 for 1 month | $159 for 30 days |
| Top plan (verified Sept 2026) | $129 for 3 months | $339 for 120 days (NOW+) |
| Practice questions | 2,600+, all written for NGN | 1,500+ to 2,000+ depending on plan |
| NGN case studies | 50, each with a video walkthrough | Yes, inside the QBank |
| Core content lectures | No, crash course videos only | Yes, full core content review |
| Live or in-person option | No | Yes, 3-day live or live-streamed, $399 |
| Readiness exams | 4 (100 questions, fixed length) | 4 (all NGN item types) |
| Computer-adaptive practice | No | Not stated |
| Mobile app | iOS and Android, 4.9 stars | iOS and Android, launched late 2025 |
| Guarantee | Full refund on 2 and 3 month plans | Full refund or free 45-day remediation |
| Access period | 1 to 3 months, pausable | 30 to 120 days |
| Best for | Question practice and NGN drilling | Relearning the content |
Bootcamp wins on price, question volume and NGN case studies. Hurst wins on core content lectures, live delivery and length of access.
This is not close. Bootcamp lists 1 month at $59, 2 months at $99 and 3 months at $129, verified September 2026, with Klarna and Afterpay installments. Hurst's on-demand NOW plans run $159 for 30 days, $199 for 60 days, $249 for 90 days and $339 for 120 days (NOW+, which bundles the Elevate study plan Hurst sells separately for $99). Live and live-streamed reviews are $399.
So the cheapest way into Hurst costs more than Bootcamp's most expensive plan. That gap is real, but it is not a scandal. Hurst's price includes taught lectures, a printed workbook, and in the live tiers, three days of an instructor.
If price is the deciding factor, check current NCLEX Bootcamp discounts before you buy, since the list prices are higher than what Bootcamp usually charges.
Here is where Hurst earns its money, and where Bootcamp has a genuine hole.
Hurst's NOW plans include NGN core content lectures plus specialty topics, a printed student workbook, a post-quiz after every topic, and a resource library covering pharmacology, infection control and more. Hurst's own FAQ describes a three-step method: master the must-know core content, add NCLEX-specific testing strategies, then take readiness exams. That sequence is why students who feel shaky on content buy Hurst.
Bootcamp does not do this. It has crash course videos on high-yield topics, each with a quiz, and a 9-lesson Next Gen strategy course of about two hours. These are refreshers, not a lecture series. If you need someone to teach you acid-base balance from the ground up, Bootcamp will not do it, and we would rather tell you now than after you have paid.
Bootcamp's teaching happens inside the question explanations instead. That works well for students who know the material and need to learn how it gets tested. There is also an "Ask Bootcamp" AI assistant that can summarize a crash course video into structured notes.
If you want taught content but Hurst's price makes you wince, SimpleNursing is the other content-review option worth a look before you commit.
Bootcamp takes this one clearly. It says it has 2,600+ practice questions, updated weekly, all written for the Next Gen NCLEX, plus 50 NGN case studies of six items each, every one with a video walkthrough. That last detail matters more than the raw count, because case studies are the item type most students fumble.
Hurst does have NGN content, which was worth verifying rather than assuming. Its QBank includes NGN case studies and standalone NGN items, and Hurst sells it on its own for $109 for 30 days. Volume is lower: Hurst's NOW 30, 60 and 90 plans list 1,500+ practice questions, and NOW+ and the live packages list 2,000+, all verified September 2026.
Bootcamp's content is aligned to the 2026 NCLEX-RN test plan effective April 1, 2026. One limitation: Bootcamp has no separate NCLEX-PN question bank, while Hurst sells full PN versions of everything.
Bootcamp sells its bank standalone too, covered in our NCLEX Bootcamp question bank review.
Both give you four full-length readiness exams, so this is closer to a tie than the rest of the page. Bootcamp's are 100 questions each with a pass prediction rated Low, Borderline, High or Very High. It also runs a Pass Targets tracker with three visible thresholds: a 62% score, 85% of the question bank completed, and all four readiness exams attempted. Bootcamp says 99% of students who hit all three pass.
Hurst's four readiness exams use all NGN question types, and Hurst says its platform mimics the NCLEX interface. Completing all four is a condition of its guarantee.
The honest caveat on both: neither company's readiness exams are computer-adaptive. Bootcamp's are explicitly fixed-length, and Hurst does not state that its exams adapt. The real NCLEX is adaptive, so if rehearsing that specific format is what calms your nerves, neither of these is the product for it.
Hurst wins this category outright, and it is not just about live classes.
Hurst gives you four ways in: on-demand (NOW 30 through NOW+), N-Stream as a live-streamed 3-day class, an in-person 3-day review, and Elevate as a post-review add-on. The live options are $399 as of September 2026 and run on a published calendar. If you learn better with a schedule, a room and someone to ask, Bootcamp has nothing that competes. It is self-paced only, with no live classes and no office hours.
Access length also favors Hurst at the top end: 120 days on NOW+ versus Bootcamp's maximum of three months. Bootcamp counters with the ability to pause your membership after purchase, plus a study schedule generator that takes your start date, exam date and days off, then rebalances the plan when you fall behind.
On mobile, we checked rather than repeating the old line that Hurst has no app. Hurst published an iOS and Android app in late 2025 and updated it in September 2026, though it is for existing subscribers and carries almost no ratings yet. Bootcamp's app is the proven one, at 4.9 stars across roughly 15,000 reviews.
Both companies will give you your money back, and the terms are where they differ.
Bootcamp's pass guarantee is a full refund on the 2 and 3 month plans only. You must buy at least 30 days before your exam, hit all three Pass Targets, and supply your accredited US or Canadian nursing program name plus your failure result. The appeal is that those conditions sit in your dashboard, so you always know whether you qualify.
Hurst's guarantee, verified on its guarantee page in September 2026, is broader in scope. Complete a Hurst Live, N-Stream, Hurst Now or Online Classroom review in its entirety, sit the NCLEX within three months of graduating from a US or Canadian accredited nursing school, and if you fail, Hurst offers a choice of a one-time 45-day remediation course (finished within nine months of graduation) or a full refund. "In its entirety" means all the lectures plus all four readiness exams, and for NOW+ every Elevate video and quiz too. For the refund you must notify Hurst within two weeks of your failure notice, return the materials including the printed workbook, and send the failure notice and candidate performance report.
Two practical differences: Hurst's guarantee covers every review product including the cheapest one, while Bootcamp's excludes its $59 plan, and Hurst asks you to mail materials back while Bootcamp's process is online.
Hurst says it has helped more than 500,000 nursing students since 1988 and advertises a 99.8% pass rate on its NCLEX-RN page. Those are Hurst's own figures, not independently audited ones, and Bootcamp's 200,000+ student claim is its own figure too.
Choose NCLEX Bootcamp if:
Choose Hurst Review if:
For most graduates, Bootcamp is the better buy. It is roughly a third of the price, it has more questions and all of them are written for the Next Gen exam, the 50 case study walkthroughs target the item type people fail, and the Pass Targets tracker tells you where you stand.
But Bootcamp is a drilling tool, not a teacher, and we are not going to pretend otherwise. Hurst wins on content review, live and in-person delivery, length of access, and a track record going back to 1988. Those are not consolation prizes.
Read our full NCLEX Bootcamp review and our Hurst Review breakdown, or compare every option in our guide to the best NCLEX prep courses.
For most students, Bootcamp is better value: more Next Gen questions, 50 case studies with video walkthroughs, and a starting price of $59 against Hurst's $159, verified September 2026. Hurst is better if you need the content taught to you, since it has full core content lectures and live classes and Bootcamp has neither.
No. Bootcamp has crash course videos on high-yield topics and a 9-lesson Next Gen strategy course of about two hours. That is a refresher, not a lecture series. Hurst's core content lectures are the main reason to pay its higher price.
Verified on hurstreview.com on September 26, 2026: on-demand plans run $159 for 30 days, $199 for 60 days, $249 for 90 days, and $339 for 120 days with Elevate included. Live and live-streamed 3-day reviews are $399, and the standalone QBank is $109 for 30 days. Prices change, so check before you buy.
Yes, but the terms differ. Bootcamp refunds you in full on the 2 and 3 month plans if you bought 30 or more days before your exam, met all three Pass Targets and failed. Hurst offers a choice of a full refund or a free 45-day remediation course if you completed the review in its entirety and tested within three months of graduating, and it covers all of Hurst's review products.
Yes. Hurst's QBank includes NGN case studies and standalone NGN items, its readiness exams use all NGN question types, and it sells NGN case study modules for students still in school. Bootcamp still has more NGN volume, with all 2,600+ of its questions written for the Next Gen format.
We may earn commissions from some links on this page, but this does not affect our reviews or your experience.
NCLEX Bootcamp is the better buy for most graduates because it costs a fraction of Hurst and gives you far more Next Gen question practice with explanations. Hurst genuinely wins where Bootcamp does not compete at all: it teaches core content through full lectures, it runs live and in-person classes, and it has been doing this since 1988. If you already know the content and need reps, buy Bootcamp. If you feel like you never really learned the content in school, Hurst is worth the extra money.
Learn more about Bootcamp
Read our full review →
Learn more about Hurst Review
Read our full review →